Covenants (All)

The laws of creation are relevant to all believers throughout human history.  Under the Adamic Covenant, marriage between one man and one woman was established and continues through ALL COVENANTS and systems.  Laws established by the Noahic Covenant after the flood stand forever as long as the signet of God, the rainbow, is still seen in the sky.  Those include capital punishment; and eating of meat is permissible.  Practices such as altar sacrifices that were common after the flood and also continued into the Mosaic Covenant are nullified by the New Covenant after AD 70.

Circumcision was established under Abraham as a sign of the Abrahamic Covenant and was carried forward to the Mosaic Covenant system.  The old heavens and old earth cosmological order which was epitomized in the Judaistic system under Moses, yet include the Abrahamic Covenant as it related to the family of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

The shaking (Gr. “saleuo” – unsettle, stir-up, remove) of the OLD HEAVENS refers to the old cosmology in the unseen realm involving the angelic world and it includes the Mosaic Covenant system.  The shaking was necessary so that the NEW HEAVENS with the new cosmology in the unseen realm with its new rules in the angelic world, along with the New Covenant Kingdom, which cannot be shaken, may remain.

“See that you do not refuse HIM WHO SPEAKS. For if they did not escape who refused Him who spoke on earth, much more shall we not escape if we turn away from Him who speaks FROM HEAVEN, Whose voice THEN shook the earth (Israel); but NOW He has promised, saying, ‘Yet once more I shake NOT ONLY THE EARTH (Israel), BUT ALSO HEAVEN (Covenants).’  Now this, ‘Yet once more,’ indicates the REMOVAL of those things that ARE BEING SHAKEN, as of things that are made, that the things which CANNOT BE SHAKEN (spiritual kingdom) may REMAIN.  Therefore, since we are

receiving a KINGDOM which CANNOT BE SHAKEN, let us have GRACE, by which we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear.” (Hebrews 12:25-28).

[NOTE: Covenant Theology (mostly Presbyterian) is different than NEW COVENANT theology (Preterism).  The former, basically believes in two covenants (Covenant of Works and Covenant of Grace) with physical Israel and some of the moral Law continuing into the Covenant of Grace.  Some of the promises and prophecies are yet to be fulfilled in the future.

The latter, believes in a NEW COVENANT that is a Covenant of Grace, which completely supersedes or fulfills shakable things that are removed so that the unshakable may remain.  The Old Covenant (Jewish Mosaic religious system of Law, sacrifices, and ceremonies) was all fulfilled by Christ and in Christ (every jot and tittle of it) in AD 70.  All of the promises that have been misunderstood to be given to physical Israel are fulfilled in God’s spiritual True Israel made up of all born-again Christians].


See also related “Topic Studies & Terms”:

Heavens and Earth (Prophecy)

Heavens and Earth (Old)

Heavens and Earth (New)


For a more in-depth study see the related full “Study Series”:

Study Series 7 Lesson 3b Matthew 16:27-28 (and a Sub Study on Heaven and Earth)

Study Series 16 Lesson 9 Rev. Chapter 21